Jesus as my King

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. he has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.” Luke 4:18-19

Over the past 23 years, God has been watching over me.  He has never left me, or forsaken me.  I am often hard of hearing and have never seen, smelt, touched, heared or tasted this God.  My numerous sins have atrophied my ability to do the Lord’s work.  However, whether by the Spirit or by the Word, I have been impressed by the overwhelming message of God’s Word that He cares for the poor.  I now have no doubt that whatever road God leads me, He will require that I follow Christ, including His abiding love for those lacking material possessions.  As one having the world’s goods, God’s love cannot be in me if I close my heart to kindred in need (1 John 3:17).

Therefore, I resolve to take every opportunity to immitate God in His love for those who can advantage Him in no way and in His rebuke of those who have, “pride, excess of food, and prosperous ease, but did not aid in the poor and needy” (Ezek. 16:49).   I will refuse the labelled as a proponent of a “social gospel” because Christ’s love compells me to love not the “world or the things of the world.” 

There are countless conflicts and sins and gaps in my understanding and obedience to Christ’s commands to love God and love my neighbour.  I welcome any and all attempts to correct these errors. 

Here is a running list of brief, random, and heuristic thoughts I have on the issue:

  • Cash stores are evil.
  • The lottery is evil.
  • God offers no instruction on how much money his people can earn.
  • God does not prohibit profitable business. 
  • God does not appear to be opposed to the notion of private ownership. 
  • The government is a poor steward of the poor’s welfare.
  • The church is a poor steward of God’s blessings.
  • Theologians and philosophers should not be the leaders in concern for the poor, they are ill-equipped or trained to address the scope of global poverty.
  • Christian business persons must seek first the kingdom of God.
  • Christian masons must seek first the kingdom of God.
  • Christian pizza delivery persons must seek first the kingdom of God.
  • Medicine has advanced significantly due to its profitability as an industry. 
  • Opponents of governmental health care MUST be the most outspoken proponents of universal health care.
  • If all the liberals in the U.S. actually believed in the rights of the poor, there would be no poor in the U.S.
  • Trickle down economics might actually work if the gutters installed by the rich didn’t funnel the trickle back into their pockets.
  • Why does the rich man in Luke 16 go to hell?
  • You are Theophilus.
  • Sentiment for the poor should never be used to drum up support for building new barns for the rich…ever.
2 comments on “Jesus as my King

  1. DA Caarson in his book “How Long O Lord?” spends several pages on different aspects and causes of poverty. I found that discussion helpfull. Carson points out that though there are differnt kinds of poverty and differnt reasons for poverty, those reasons can so intertwine and feed off one another that simplistic answers and assumptoins often don’t really help. Poverty is messy, but then again, a fallen world by definition is messy….

  2. Seth Horton says:

    Which is part of why I strongly believe we need some people to study business and economics for the sole purepose for studying causes and remedies for poverty. It greatly frustrates me that I only ever hear theologians and philosophers discuss the wrongs of poverty but never hear business/finance students ask the question.

Leave a Reply

