Anger

Jesus [also known as the King of Kings and Son of God] said, “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, to proclaim the year of the Lord.”

How is it even possible to hear a Christian say, “The Gospel is not social justice”?

I immediately responded, “It’s not?!”

“Well, you can’t polarize the two.”

“Okay?”

He continued, “But the Gospel is not social justice, it’s a message-”

I couldn’t even continue the conversation. I thought we were past this discussion. Everyone (I thought) knew the Gospel demands social justice. Whether or not we participate is another question. But we cannot read Deuteronomy 15, the latter prophets, the Gospels, Acts, or the Epistles, etc…etc… without realizing God is The advocate for the marginalized and poor.

I think my interlocutor would have acknowledged this if I had had the composure to stay and dismember his rhetoric limb from limb. And since he pointed out that, “You can’t polarize the two,” I think he realized social justice is not opposed to the Gospel. But to say, “The Gospel is not social justice,” is irresponsible at best and antiChrist at worst.

Also, if you choose to comment, “Yes, but…” comments will drive me mad. Comment on what I have said, not on the rest of the truth of Christ that doesn’t happen to fit in this blog post. (You’re obviously welcome to address error, but “both, and” statements seem to be nothing but a rhetorical ploy to escape the ethical demands of Christ.)

One comment on “Anger

  1. Todd says:

    hey Seth, I wish you had stayed around, it would have been interesting to hear your perspective. It sounded like you were saying that the Gospel is only social justice and separate from atonement. We had some good comments on the relationship between the two after you were gone.

Leave a Reply

